Girl in the Blue Coat Paperback

Girl in the Blue Coat Paperback

Buy New $5.64
List Price: $9.99
Save: $4.35 (44%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.

 

The national bestseller and winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery

“Girl in the Blue Coat is a powerful, compelling coming-of-age story set against the dark and dangerous backdrop of World War II. It’s an important and page-turning look at the choices all of us-including young adults-have to make in wartime. A beautiful combination of heartbreak, loss, young love, and hope.” -Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale

“A tapestry of guilt and acceptance, growing responsibility, and reluctant heroism, Hanneke’s coming-of-age under heartbreaking circumstances is a jarring reminder of how war consumes and transforms the passions of ordinary life. Every devastating moment of this beautiful novel is both poignant and powerful, and every word feels true.” -Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.

On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman’s frantic plea to find a person-a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.

Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary, gripping novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.

 

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Review

The Letter: The #1 Bestseller that everyone is talking about

The Letter: The #1 Bestseller that everyone is talking about

Kindle Price: $1.99
Sold by: Hachette Book Group

The #1 EBook Bestseller. Every so often a love story comes along to remind us that sometimes, in our darkest hour, hope shines a candle to light our way. Discover THE LETTER by Kathryn Hughes, the Number One bestseller that has captured thousands of hearts worldwide. Perfect for fans of The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. ‘A wonderful, uplifting story’ Lesley Pearse

And if you love THE LETTER, you will adore Kathryn’s second novel THE SECRET…

Tina Craig longs to escape her violent husband. She works all the hours God sends to save up enough money to leave him, also volunteering in a charity shop to avoid her unhappy home. Whilst going through the pockets of a second-hand suit, she comes across an old letter, the envelope firmly sealed and unfranked. Tina opens the letter and reads it – a decision that will alter the course of her life for ever…

Billy Stirling knows he has been a fool, but hopes he can put things right. On 4th September 1939 he sits down to write the letter he hopes will change his future. It does – in more ways than he can ever imagine…

The Letter tells the story of two women, born decades apart, whose paths are destined to cross and how one woman’s devastation leads to the other’s salvation.

Editorial Reviews
Review
A beautiful story… I didn’t want to put it down―Reviewed by Fran

A beautifully told, tragic tale…restoring your faith in the kindness of strangers and the strength of the human spirit to rise despite adversity―Ajoobacats Blog

You will find it hard to put down. I cried buckets of tears reading it―Books With Wine and Chocolate

Very satisfying. Both women’s stories were equally developed and interesting. They were also equally heartbreaking―Mom With a Book

With a swift pace, memorable characters and a wonderful conceptual depth, Hughes’ novel is one that simply can’t be put down―Goodreads

Chrissie and Tina’s story is one that will stay with me for a long time―Jaffa Reads Too
About the Author
Kathryn Hughes was born in Altrincham, near Manchester. After completing a secretarial course, Kathryn met her husband and they married in Canada. For twenty-nine years they ran a business together, raised two children and travelled when they could to places such as India, Singapore, South Africa and New Zealand. Kathryn and her family now make their home in a village near Manchester. The Letter is Kathryn’s first novel, and she is busy working on her second, The Secret.

The Letter: The #1 Bestseller that everyone is talking about

The Letter: The #1 Bestseller that everyone is talking about

 

Print List Price: $13.99
Kindle Price: $1.99
Save $12.00 (86%)

 

 

The #1 EBook Bestseller. Every so often a love story comes along to remind us that sometimes, in our darkest hour, hope shines a candle to light our way. Discover THE LETTER by Kathryn Hughes, the Number One bestseller that has captured thousands of hearts worldwide. Perfect for fans of The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. ‘A wonderful, uplifting story’ Lesley Pearse

And if you love THE LETTER, you will adore Kathryn’s second novel THE SECRET…

Tina Craig longs to escape her violent husband. She works all the hours God sends to save up enough money to leave him, also volunteering in a charity shop to avoid her unhappy home. Whilst going through the pockets of a second-hand suit, she comes across an old letter, the envelope firmly sealed and unfranked. Tina opens the letter and reads it – a decision that will alter the course of her life for ever…

Billy Stirling knows he has been a fool, but hopes he can put things right. On 4th September 1939 he sits down to write the letter he hopes will change his future. It does – in more ways than he can ever imagine…

The Letter tells the story of two women, born decades apart, whose paths are destined to cross and how one woman’s devastation leads to the other’s salvation.

Editorial Reviews
Review
A beautiful story… I didn’t want to put it down―Reviewed by Fran

A beautifully told, tragic tale…restoring your faith in the kindness of strangers and the strength of the human spirit to rise despite adversity―Ajoobacats Blog

You will find it hard to put down. I cried buckets of tears reading it―Books With Wine and Chocolate

Very satisfying. Both women’s stories were equally developed and interesting. They were also equally heartbreaking―Mom With a Book

With a swift pace, memorable characters and a wonderful conceptual depth, Hughes’ novel is one that simply can’t be put down―Goodreads

Chrissie and Tina’s story is one that will stay with me for a long time―Jaffa Reads Too
About the Author
Kathryn Hughes was born in Altrincham, near Manchester. After completing a secretarial course, Kathryn met her husband and they married in Canada. For twenty-nine years they ran a business together, raised two children and travelled when they could to places such as India, Singapore, South Africa and New Zealand. Kathryn and her family now make their home in a village near Manchester. The Letter is Kathryn’s first novel, and she is busy working on her second, The Secret.